Press Release: Andrew Norton Awarded Innovative Educator of the Year

The Nevada Association of School Boards (NASB) holds an annual conference every year in late November. During each conference they honor staff, organizations, or people associated with Nevada School Districts across the state in approximately fifteen miscellaneous categories. This year, Pahrump Valley High School (PVHS) teacher Andrew Norton was selected as the Innovative Educator of the Year.

The Nye County School Board of Trustees nominated Mr. Andrew Norton for this award, created to recognize the invaluable service provided to Nevada’s children by those individuals who demonstrate their leadership by promoting and implementing innovative programs designed to improve student achievement. All submissions go through a rigorous process of review by the NASB awards committee before reaching their final selection.

“Mr. Norton beams with pride for his content area of science. His classroom is welcoming, kids choose to conglomerate during lunch and before/after class. They want to be in the classroom, even with the high expectations that include interaction, bell-to-bell teaching, and standards-based assessment,” stated Mrs. Desiree Veloz, Assistant Principal at PVHS. “Mr. Norton provides students with opportunities to show what-they-know and provides feedback accordingly.”

Mr. Andrew Norton became the school’s first robotics club sponsor during his first year of teaching last year. It was a new program in need of robotic supplies, funding, and students. He started out by speaking to students and parents at freshman orientation before school even began, and did what it took throughout the school year to eventually win state with six kids. Mr. Norton also coached boys' soccer.

Mr. Andrew Norton surpassed all expectations of a first-year teacher, dedicating his year to students and their achievement, doing whatever it takes.

Click here to view a PDF of this press release.

Post Script: Mr. Andrew Norton has no familial relation to Superintendent Dale Norton.